Pete’s Lynx

IMG_1470

Lyncean Pete Lobner prowls the internet for articles and links about topics that might be of interest to the Lyncean Group of San Diego.  If you would like to see Pete’s recent posts, which summarize and comment on a wide range of topics, please click on the link below.  You can also review posts by category by clicking on the appropriate link in the box on the right.

Click here to see Pete’s recent posts.

In addition, Pete has compiled the following list of links to external sites that could be of interest to Lyncean members:

Airframer – The Aircraft Manufacturing Supply Chain Directory:  http://www.airframer.com/default.html

ALSOS Digital Library for Nuclear Issues: http://alsos.wlu.edu/default.aspx

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS): https://www.aaas.org

American Nuclear Society (ANS): http://www.ans.org

Arctic Council:  http://www.arctic-council.org/index.php/en/

Arctic Submarine Laboratory (ASL): http://www.csp.navy.mil/asl/index.htm

Arms Control Association:  https://www.armscontrol.org

Atomic Heritage Foundation:  https://www.atomicheritage.org

Atomic Rocketships of the Space Patrol:  http://www.projectrho.com/public_html/rocket/index.php

Aviation Week & Space Technology Archive (1916 to present; subscription required):  http://archive.aviationweek.com

Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists:  https://thebulletin.org

Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest:  https://www.bulwer-lytton.com

California Institute of Technology – Caltech: http://www.caltech.edu

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA):  https://www.cia.gov/index.html

Computer History Museum: http://www.computerhistory.org

Covert Shores – H. I. Sutton naval analysis:  http://www.hisutton.com

Daily Galaxy – Great Discoveries Channel: http://www.dailygalaxy.com/my_weblog/

Dark Energy Survey: http://www.darkenergysurvey.org

Dartmouth Flood Observatory:  http://floodobservatory.colorado.edu

Defense Advanced Research projects Agency (DARPA):  https://www.darpa.mil

Department of Commerce (DOC):  https://www.commerce.gov

Department of Energy (DOE): https://www.energy.gov

Department of Transportation (DOT):  https://www.transportation.gov

EarthSky – updates on your cosmos and world: http://earthsky.org

Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI):  https://www.epri.com/#/?lang=en-US

Encyclopedia Astronautica: http://www.astronautix.com

European Southern Observatory (ESO)http://www.eso.org/public/

European Space Agency (ESA):  https://www.esa.int/ESA

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED): https://fred.stlouisfed.org

Federation of American Scientists (FAS): https://fas.org

Global Energy World: http://www.globalenergyworld.com

Illustrated History of Computers:    http://www.computersciencelab.com/ComputerHistory/History.htm

Institute for International Science and Technology Policy (IISTP), at George Washington University:  https://iistp.elliott.gwu.edu

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA): https://www.iaea.org

International Panel on Fissile Materials (IPFM):  http://fissilematerials.org

Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) – California Institute of Technology:  https://www.jpl.nasa.gov

Kurzgesagt – In a Nutshell;  best known for their distinctive animated videos on topics from the fields of science, space, technology, biology, history and philosophy: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsXVk37bltHxD1rDPwtNM8Q

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL): https://www.llnl.gov

Library of Congress (LOC):  https://www.loc.gov

Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL):  https://www.llnl.gov

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT):  http://www.mit.edu

National Academies Press (NAP):  http://www.nap.edu

National Aeronautics & Space Administration (NASA): https://www.nasa.gov

National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA):  https://www.nga.mil/Pages/Default.aspx

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST):  http://www.nist.gov

National Museum of the U.S. Air Force:  https://www.nationalmuseum.af.mil

National Reconnaissance Office (NRO): http://www.nro.gov

National Science Digital Library (NSDL):  https://nsdl.oercommons.org

Naval Analysis:  http://www.navalanalyses.com

NavSource Naval History – Photographic History of the U.S. Navy: http://www.navsource.org

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA):  http://www.noaa.gov

National Science Foundation (NSF):  https://www.nsf.gov

Nuclear Engineering International (NEI): http://www.neimagazine.com

Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC): https://www.nrc.gov

Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL): https://www.ornl.gov

OPENCULTURE free cultural & educational media:  http://www.openculture.com

Popular Mechanics – magazine online archive (1905 – 2005): https://books.google.com/books/about/Popular_Mechanics.html?id=49gDAAAAMBAJ

Popular Science – magazine online archive (1925 – 2009): https://books.google.com/books/serial/ISSN:01617370?rview=1&lr=&sa=N&start=0

RAND Corporation (including monograph reports): https://www.rand.org/about.html

Rocketdyne Archives:  http://www.rocketdynearchives.com/home.html

Sci-News – breaking science news:  http://www.sci-news.com

Science.gov –   “Gateway to U.S. Federal Science”:  http://www.science.gov/index.html

Scientific American Archive (1845 – present; subscription required):  https://www.scientificamerican.com/store/archive/?page=1

Space.com – NASA, Space Exploration and Astronomy News: https://www.space.com

Spaceline – Cape Canaveral history:  http://www.spaceline.org

TOP500 Supercomputing sites:  http://top500.org

Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS): https://www.ucsusa.org

University of North Texas (UNT) Digital Library:  https://digital.library.unt.edu

US Geologic Survey (USGS): https://www.usgs.gov

US Metric Association (USMA):  http://www.us-metric.org/#information-about

WolframAlpha computational knowledge engine:  http://www.wolframalpha.com

World Bank Open Data:  http://data.worldbank.org

World Clock:  http://www.poodwaddle.com

World Federation of Great Towers:  http://www.great-towers.com/towers/

World Nuclear News (WNN): http://www.world-nuclear-news.org

World Nuclear Organization (WANO): http://www.world-nuclear.org

XPRIZE:  https://www.xprize.org